advertisement advertisement
St. John's IceCaps Powered By Rogers
Check out the St. John's IceCaps' YouTube Channel Stay up to date with the St. John's IceCaps via RSS Like the St. John's IceCaps on Facebook follow us:

Minor hockey players to practise with the IceCaps Posted by IceCaps on

Fourteen players visiting seven minor hockey arenas Tuesday

Several hundred young minor hockey players will get the opportunity of a lifetime Tuesday evening, when they get to participate in a practice with members of the St. John’s IceCaps.

Fourteen players had their names selected as winners in the Practice with the Pros contest, sponsored by Old Dutch. The winners will now get to take their teammates to their home arena and have an hour-long practice with two members of the IceCaps. That means more than 200 minor hockey players will share the ice with IceCaps players Tuesday evening at arenas from Torbay to Mobile.

The winners are novice players Theo Coady and Colin Whelan from the Southern Shore Minor Hockey Association; novice Michael Meaney and atom Chloe Stuckey from Mount Pearl Minor; atom Devin Burt and pee wee Jacob Swyer from St. John’s Minor; atom players Adam Cross and Josh Parsons from Northeast Minor; pee wee Curtis Winters and female under-12 player Jane Ledrew from CBR Minor; atom Kyle O’Keefe and pee wee Riley Shea from Avalon Celtics minor and novice JT Tobin and atom Noah Power from Goulds MHA.

This marks the second consecutive year the IceCaps have partnered with minor hockey to send players to practices, another indication of the IceCaps commitment to the province.

“The IceCaps organization is thrilled to provide these young athletes with an opportunity to practice with professional hockey players,” said IceCaps President and CEO Danny Williams. “The IceCaps are role models within our community, and with this event they will also be able to pass along their knowledge and skill to young hockey players.”

Team captain Jason Jaffray, Travis Ramsey, Carl Klingberg, Will O’Neill, Eric O’Dell, Julian Melchiori, Kevin Clark, Jason Gregoire, Cody Sol, Ben Chiarot, Josh Lunden, Kael Mouilleriat, John Albert and Ryan Schnell are the IceCaps participating.

Following the on-ice sessions, the IceCaps will be available to sign some autographs for the players.

Facebook Add a Comment