advertisement advertisement
St. John's IceCaps Powered By Rogers
Check out the St. John's IceCaps' YouTube Channel Stay up to date with the St. John's IceCaps via RSS Like the St. John's IceCaps on Facebook follow us:

Jaffray named IceCaps 2012-13 IOA/American Specialty Man of the Year Posted by IceCaps on

Mount Pearl-20130212-00937

The St. John’s IceCaps are proud to announce that Jason Jaffray has been named the team’s winner of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year award for his outstanding contributions to various communities in the province of Newfoundland and Labrador during the 2012-13 season.

As captain of the IceCaps, Jason has lived up to this responsibility on-and-off the ice. Coming off a very serious injury last season, it would have been easy for Jason to focus entirely on his on-ice performance. Jason certainly did commit to his on-ice comeback but he did not forget his role as a leader in the community and a true ambassador for the IceCaps. While putting in extra hours for his rehabilitation, Jason continued to make time for IceCaps fans throughout Newfoundland and Labrador.

From chatting with fans and signing autographs at special events to visiting various health care facilities to spread holiday cheer to those facing health challenges, Jason once again demonstrated his leadership during these visits, taking extra time with patients, family members and hospital staff.

Jaffray autograph at St. Francis of AssissiJason was also heavily involved in promoting education to youth in the St. John’s and surrounding areas, visiting schools throughout the season to assist with reading programs, teach life lessons and assist with hockey programs. Continuing his commitment to minor hockey – which started last season – Jason also volunteered his time to visit local minor hockey practices, allowing young players to meet their local hockey heroes.

One of Jason’s most significant contributions was a special Christmas project. Jason and his wife, Michelle, assisted families in the St. John’s area to help give them a Christmas to remember. In addition to the various fundraisers which took place during games, Jason and Michelle led the charge among the other players and wives to collect the necessary items. The family was overcome with emotion when they were presented with gifts, a Christmas supper and some extra gift cards to assist them in the New Year.

Jason is now one of 30 finalists for the AHL’s 2012-13 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award, honoring the overall IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year. The league award is named after the former Hershey Bears forward and AHL All-Star who died in 1997 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. The winner of the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced by the American Hockey League on Apr. 18.

Facebook Add a Comment