advertisement advertisement
St. John's IceCaps Powered By Rogers
Check out the St. John's IceCaps' YouTube Channel Stay up to date with the St. John's IceCaps via RSS Like the St. John's IceCaps on Facebook follow us:

IceCaps Named Team of the Year by AHL Posted by Dave Salter on

Also Claim Community Relations and Fan Experience Awards

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced yesterday that the St. John’s IceCaps have won the President’s Award for overall organization excellence and the Eastern Conference Community Relations and Fan Experience awards during the AHL Board of Governors’ Annual Meeting at Hilton Head Island, S.C.

In claiming the President’s Award, the IceCaps were recognized for selling out every game at Mile One Centre for the third consecutive season, and their ongoing leadership in overall business success in 2013-14. The IceCaps continue to excel in areas like fan experience, game presentation and social media, and they remain a cornerstone in the local community through their community relations efforts as well. The IceCaps were applauded for hosting the 2014 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Assante Wealth Management, while on the ice the team reached their first Calder Cup Finals. Additionally, the IceCaps developed nine players who advanced to the National Hockey League with the parent Winnipeg Jets.

Additionally, the IceCaps were winners as teams from each conference were selected for excellence in the areas of community relations and fan experience. St. John’s (Eastern) and Charlotte Checkers (Western) earned the nods for exceptional community relations efforts and St. John’s (Eastern) and Toronto Marlies (Western) were recognized for outstanding fan experience at home games. The Manchester Monarchs (Eastern) and Grand Rapids Griffins (Western) were honored for digital media excellence.

“The IceCaps organization is honoured and humbled to be named the top organization in the American Hockey League,” said Danny Williams, President and CEO of the IceCaps. “We are proud that our commitment to excellence in community relationships, corporate partnerships and overall fan experience continues to receive accolades from the league. These accomplishments further enhance the reputation we worked hard to build as a professional hockey community.”

Travis Morin of the Texas Stars won the President’s Award for outstanding player accomplishment in 2013-14.

Utica Comets President Robert Esche and Rockford IceHogs Executive Director Gordon Kaye were selected as co-winners of the James C. Hendy Memorial Award, given to the outstanding executive in the American Hockey League for 2013-14.

Syracuse Crunch owner Howard Dolgon was honored with the Thomas Ebright Award in recognition of career contributions to the AHL.

Veteran linesman Jim Vail was named the 2013-14 recipient of the Michael Condon Memorial Award for outstanding contributions by an on-ice official. Based in St. John’s, Vail has been an integral member of the league’s officiating staff since 1991, working hundreds of games including the AHL All-Star Game and the Calder Cup Finals this past season.

As part of its Team Business Services program, the AHL honored one club from each conference for top revenue growth in four areas during this past season: overall ticket sales, season-ticket sales, group-ticket sales and corporate sponsorship sales. The winners in overall ticket sales revenue growth were the Bridgeport Sound Tigers (Eastern) and the Texas Stars (Western). Winners for season-ticket sales growth were the Syracuse Crunch (Eastern) and the Rockford IceHogs (Western). The Adirondack Phantoms (Eastern) and the Oklahoma City Barons (Western) earned the awards for group-ticket sales growth, and the Providence Bruins (Eastern) and Hamilton Bulldogs (Western) were recognized for their corporate sponsorship sales growth.

The AHL also honored several teams and individuals for their efforts during the 2013-14 season at the league’s Marketing Meeting in Springfield, Mass., last month, including the St. John’s IceCaps as the sponsorship sales department of the year and the Grand Rapids Griffins as the ticket sales department of the year.

The Toronto Marlies were recognized for the most unique ticket sales promotion or theme night (“Girl Guides Partnership”); the Lake Erie Monsters were selected for having the most unique game operations, community relations or social media promotion (“Joe Haden Bobblehead Giveaway”); and the Charlotte Checkers were given the award for the most unique sponsorship package or entitlement (“Frigidaire ‘Frigid Air’”).

In operation since 1936, the AHL continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. More than 88 percent of today’s NHL players are American Hockey League graduates, and for the 13th year in a row, more than 6 million fans attended AHL games across North America in 2013-14.

Facebook Add a Comment